Hawai‘i QSO Party Rules

Promote contacts between as many Hawai‘i and non-Hawai`i stations as possible.

Rules 1.  The contest 48 hour operating period will be from 04:00 UTC Aug 22 to 04:00 UTC Aug 24, 2015.
2.  Single operator categories are restricted to a maximum of 18 operating hours during the contest period.
3.  Stations may be worked only on the 10, 15, 20, 40, 80 and 160 meter bands.
4.  Each station may be worked in 4 modes on one band - SSB, CW, RTTY and PSK (Click here for digial mode info).
5.  Multi-op station operators may also operate from their home station.
6.  Use of spotting websites is permitted and encouraged. Click here for recommendations.
7.  Operation must conform to FCC and station home country regulations.
8.  Logs should be submitted by September 30, 2015.
Exchanges Hawai‘i stations: RS/T plus Hawai‘i Multiplier in the table below. (Click for map of Hawai‘i Multipliers).
Hawai‘i MultiplierCountyHawai‘i MultiplierCounty
HIL, KON, KOH or VOLHawai‘i County (Big Island)KAU or NIIKaua‘i County
HON, WHN, LHN or PRLHonolulu County (O‘ahu Island)MAU, MOL or LANMaui County
KALKalawao County (located on the island of Moloka‘i)
Other US and Canadian stations:  RS/T plus State, DC or Province/Territory;     DX stations:  RS/T only.
All stations call CQ Hawai`i QSO Party on phone; CQ HQP on CW and in digital modes
Class Q - QRPMixed Mode - 5W CW, RTTY or PSK31; 10W PEP Phone
Class T - TechnicianCW/Phone - 200W PEP or less (10 Meters + Tech CW Bands)
Class C - CW OnlyCW only - 1500W PEP or less
Class CL- CW OnlyCW only - 150W PEP or less
Class D - Digital onlyRTTY or other Amateur digital modes - 1500W PEP or less
Class L - Low PowerMixed Mode - 150W PEP or less
Class H - High PowerMixed Mode - 1500W PEP or less
Class N - Multi OperatorMixed Mode - one station, 1500W PEP or less
Class M - Multi Operator, Multi StationMixed Mode - one or more stations, 1500W PEP or less
 Non-Hawai‘i Stations:  Work Hawai‘i stations.  Hawai‘i Stations:  Work any station.
Each station can be worked four times per band using each mode - SSB, CW, RTTY and Digital.
QSO Points
Band SSB  CW  Digital    Band SSB  CW  Digital    Band SSB  CW  Digital 
10m  15    20m    80m  15 
15m  10    40m  10    160m  12  30 

Hawai‘i Stations earn 20 QSO points for working non-Hawai`i Bonus Stations. Multi-operator stations receive an additional 25 QSO points for every operator who confirms 5 or more contacts.

Raw Score The Raw Score is the result of adding the QSO Points for stations worked on all bands operated.
Contest Multipliers
Non-Hawai`i Stations     Multipliers are awarded for working each Hawai‘i Multiplier on each band, regardless
  of mode. The maximum possible is 84 (6 Bands × 14 Hawai‘i Multipliers = 84).
Hawai`i Stations     Multipliers are awarded for the 14 Hawai`i Hawai‘i Multipliers, each US State, DC, each
  Canadian Province/Territory, and DXCC entities, only once, regardless of band or mode.
  Click here for a complete list of US, Canadian and Hawai`i multiplier abbreviations.
Final Score A station's Final Score is the Raw Score multiplied by the Contest Multipliers earned.

Award certificates will be presented to the top three scorers in each of the eight operating categories:
 Hawai`i Stations: Each County Other US Stations: Each US Call District
 Canadian Stations: Each Province DX Stations: Each Continent

Suggested Frequencies
CW  General sub-band lower limit and up 25 kHz.
Phone  General sub-band lower limit and up 25 kHz; 28.300-28.500 MHz on 10 meters.
Digital Modes  Follow the ARRL Band Plan.

The contest is supported by the free N1MM contesting log program and others. Click here for information about other programs that support the HQP contest.

Logs should be submitted by email to Cabrillo 3.0 format is preferred, but any reasonable text format with QSO exchange information is acceptable. Log submissions must arrive prior to October 1st, 2015 to be considered for awards. Please include your station category (Q,C,D,L,H,N or M)in the email subject line.


The Hawai`i QSO Party is sponsored by the Battleship Missouri ARC, Big Island ARC, Emergency ARC, Hilo ARC,
Honolulu ARC, Kona Amateur Radio Society, Koolau ARC, Maui ARC, and Waikiki ARC.

Revision A - 10/30/2013